Bookmark and Share


Bookmark and Share

2017 SUSTY Awards Announced

ASBC has announced its 2017 SUSTY Awards, including U.S. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) and U.S. Senator Angus King (I-ME). ASBC gives the awards annually to recognize exemplary leadership for policies that help build a more environmentally, socially and economically sustainable America. “The Sustainable Policymakers Awards or SUSTYs acknowledge the important accomplishments and groundbreaking work that business leaders and policymakers across the country have undertaken to create a strong, modern economy built on principles of shared prosperity, environmental protection, and social justice,” said Richard Eidlin, ASBC VP of Policy and Campaigns, who coordinates the awards.

In addition to the two senators, SUSTY recipients for 2017 include U.S. Representative Elijah Cummings (D-MD), Founder and CEO of Business for a Fair Minimum Wage Holly Sklar, Founder and Technical Director of Naturepedic Barry Cik, and President of the Niskanen Center Jerry Taylor.

“All of this year’s honorees have demonstrated outstanding leadership,” Eidlin said. “The 2017 SUSTY awards will recognize Senator Whitehouse and Jerry Taylor for their work combating climate change, Senator King for his leadership on high-road workplace issues, Representative Cummings for his effort to ensure election integrity, Holly Sklar for her work on income inequality, and Barry Cik for his leadership in developing non-toxic manufacturing techniques.”

ASBC will present the 2017 awards during SUSTYBIZ17, its annual business policy summit in Washington, D.C. on October 22–24. Join us!